Ken Scrivano – 2023 ISRC Legacy Award Recipient

Ken Scrivano

The 2023 ISRC Legacy Award recipient is Ken Scrivano. His respiratory career has spanned 45 plus years here in Illinois. He received his MS degree from Cardinal Stritch University and his RRT back in the day when the oral exams were being offered. His participation on the ISRC board of directors is extensive as well, where he was the Chairman of Chapter Six for 15 years and elected President of the ISRC on two separate occasions (1995 & 2001). He also participated as our Delegate from 1997 to 1999. His lobbying activities go back to 1995 when Illinois first passed our licensure act. He also sat on the IDFPR Respiratory Care Board as the Vice Chair for 1996 to 2000. He was very active with community activities such as The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, American Lung Association, and served as a RC Consultant for IL Dept. of Public Aid for Vent facilities.

He has also served on the Rockford Public Schools board for 10 years, 8 of which he was the President. He also served on the Rock Valley College Resp. Care Program Advisory Board for 30 years and was chair for several of those years. He was active on the speaker’s circuit presenting for the annual ISRC conference and at Chapter Six events.

At work he led a Quality Improvement team for several years and won national quality awards. He also won an award from the Rockford Teachers Union for his contributions to the Rockford School Board. As you can see Ken is a true legacy to our profession. He was able to step up and make a difference throughout his illustrious career!


(Pictured L to R – Deb Linhart, Ken Scrivano, Brian Lawlor, and Lisa Zaenger )

                          All are either current or past Legacy Award recipients.